Post Publishes Watershed Article on Business Podcasting in Ireland

Brian posted a heads up to the Irish Podcasters mailing list about this article in the Computers In Business section of today’s Sunday Business Post.  It’s an excellent article, the first I’ve seen in the Irish media that demonstrates an understanding of podcasting.

Brian himself was interviewed.  His company, Doop Design, are producing podcasts for business clients, including the famous Irish Emigrant online newsletter.

I noticed just one small inaccuracy. The Podsafe Music Network have not announced any plans to charge podcasters to use the music.  What they are introducing is a facility for listeners who are not podcasters to buy a copy of the MP3.

Well done to all who contributed, and to the journalist, Ciaran Buckley.

Tom Raftery was also interviewed and he raised an interesting point:

The hosting services can track the number of downloads, but cannot take account of podcasts that are distributed from third party servers such as iTunes and Yahoo!.
‘‘Those services might only download it from the host once, even though the file could be distributed ten times from their caching servers,” said Tom Raftery.

I hadn’t realised that iTunes is caching and re-distributing my podcast. I had assumed it was simply re-purposing my feed, but that the downloads still came from my host. Libsyn stats report 80% of my downloads come from iTunes (plus 50% of the feed readers according to Feedburner). Does that mean my figures could be much higher than I realise? I’d love to get more information on analytics.

I think this article marks a watershed for podcasting in Ireland.  Podcasting is a boon for the amateur and the niche interest, but it is the business people who will develop the tools and the infrastructure, and evangelise the message in the mass market.  People are turning on to podcasting in order to hear Ian Dempsey and Matt Cooper, but some of them may also subscribe to Letter To America, Culture Sluts or An tImeall.

And make no mistake, the mainstream players have arrived.  I hadn’t heard of Digicast Ltd. before this article, so I googled and found them at www.podcastingireland.ie. One name stood out on their site: Helen Shaw, former director of Radio at RTE.  You can’t get more mainstream credibility than that.  Welcome to podcasting Helen!

UPDATE:  Bernie very kindly suggests that The Post missed out by not covering Ireland’s only daily podcast, An tImeall.  They must have felt that the Irish language wasn’t “business” enough.  And it’s true that it’s hard to support a business model for Irish content in the world of “old-media”.  But then that’s just the point, isn’t it?  Irish is a perfect example of the kind of niche market which wasn’t economical to serve in the days before the “Long Tail”.

I hope they’re wrong about Irish language podcasting.  I have a lot of ideas for developing An tImeall, and I’m looking for a sponsor to help me do it.

Explore posts in the same categories: business, irishblogs, media, podcasting

5 Comments on “Post Publishes Watershed Article on Business Podcasting in Ireland”

  1. Gareth Stack Says:

    Wow..I had no idea the whole folksonomy / social software narrowcasting consultancy thing was so well developed in Ireland – I actually had it in mind to set up something similar after graduation, looks like we missed the boat.


  2. I don’t think this boat is moving very quickly Gareth! Most people still don’t know what a podcast is. Doop and Digicast are in position early, but this market is going to explode faster than either of them can safely grow. I think we can expect to see several companies enter this market over the next 12 months.

    Many of them will have a track record in traditional media, which will help to open doors with the business community. But very few of them will have the experience of a well established podcast such as Technolotics. Podcasting is not radio.

    Are you graduating this summer? Stick it out and get the paper. You’re already helping to push this boat out, and Technolotics will continue to showcase your ability.

    That’s kind of my strategy too! 😉


  3. In my experience, only half of incoming third level students have MP3 players. Less than one-third of my work colleagues can play MP3 tracks in their cars while stuck in traffic. If we want to get all-inclusive coverage, we have to offer our podcasts in cassette and CD-A format. Plus, most in Ireland are cut out at the source because they don’t have broadband so they cannot avail of easy downloads at podcast sites.


  4. A chara a Conn. I can honestly say that An tImeall is one of the few podcasts that I would happily pay a subscription fee to listen to if it ever became an option. If you want to call it a sponsorship, so be it 😉

    I was contacted by someone who has a streaming Hawaiian music radio station, and who wanted to replay some of my podcasts in his streams. The only problem was that that there were a number of conditions to accomodate his situation that it would have required me to make unacceptable modifications to my format.

    I have no idea what the licensing restrictions are on music from the Podsafe Music Network, but it would be interesting to see if radio stations, perhaps public or community sations, would be interested/able to rebroadcast podcasts for the technologically challenged.

    My experience is similar to Bernie’s. I teach Hawaiian and Polynesian music class at UH-Hilo. I’ve surveyed my students in each of the past few semesters, and while the number is growing, a bit less than half have MP3 players. I expected this semester that many would be getting video equipped iPods for Christmas. When I surveyed my class of 30 in the spring, only one had.


  5. Bhi an beim iomlan de mo alt are an dtaobh *trachtala* den phodcraoladh. D’ath-scriobh me an talt cupla uair ionas go mbeadh sin soleir.

    Caithfaidh me a gabhadh nar eist me riamh le do show. Ach aontaim leat, nach bhfuil cuis ar bith nach mbeadh forbairt mor ar narrowcasting as gaeilge, toisc go bhfuil an lucht eisteachta chomh beag, ach ag an am ceana, chomh dilis.


Leave a Reply

