How to Podcast: Fully Mobile

Here’s another one in the “How to Podcast” series. Follow the photo to Flickr for a description of podcasting on the move, and a discussion on how to avoid clipping distortion.

Explore posts in the same categories: irishblogs, podcasting

2 Comments on “How to Podcast: Fully Mobile”

  1. Adam Says:

    What kind of mic and MD recorder do you use? I have a couple of mics myself that would probably do the job but need to get a decent MD recorder (or even digital dictaphone) that will allow me to record at a high quality and then upload via USB to my computer.


  2. Hey Adam – I’m really sorry for the delay in getting back to you on this – I’ve just never had the devices near me anytime I meant to answer you!

    The MD is Sony MZ-RH910. I bought a newer model recently for Fiona, my co-host on An Líonra Sóisialta. I’m happy with mine though.

    For mics, I use a Sony ECM-MS907. It’s stereo, which is a bit of a useless gimmick IMHO for most practical interview purposes. However, it does help that the MD has a stereo mic input. I often use a splitter on this and two mics connected mono – avoids the need for a mixer, and I can balance levels and adjust panning later when editing.

    I also use a couple of cheap tie-clip mics – there’s one in the picture. Sony ECM-T6. Quality is only OK. I use them while driving or out walking around.

    Minidisc is OK – but Bernie Goldbach is reporting great success with the Sony ICD MX20 digital dictaphone. Check out podcasting.ie.


Leave a Reply

