Biting Off More Than I Can Chew

I’ve been too busy to blog.  And that was probably my biggest mistake!

When I first had the idea of An Líonra Sóisialta I wanted it to be a blogged project.  Do it all in the open.  Get the support and feedback of others.  I’ve seen how a blog thrives on this feedback, recycles it, re-uses it, feeds on it.  An Líonra Sóisialta is about the community – I want to produce it with the scrutiny and help of that community.

So what’s happened?  The good news is that An Líonra Sóisialta is still on track.  In fact there’s lots of good news – which I’ll get to in a moment!  But first: what went wrong?

I underestimated the work involved.  On the other hand, it’s probably fair to say that if I had been realistic about it I would never have taken the project on in the first place!  It’s not the production work (most of the first week’s material is recorded) but the administration work that has caught me out.  There simply aren’t enough hours in the day.

I had originally planned to start the project on Monday 18th of September.  I could still do that, but I won’t.  I’ve put the show back by one week, in order to get all my ducks in a row!

You can take a peek at the building site over at AnLionra.Com.  I’m running a beta programme of “test transmissions”, so please do let me know if you have any problems downloading the podcasts, or subscribing to the feed.

The first podcast in the new series will show up on that feed on Monday 25th September.  Depending where you live, you can also choose to hear it on your radio!  Discussions with broadcasters are ongoing, but I’m delighted to be able to announce the following stations have confirmed their participation:

Finally, for now, huge thanks to Cionaodh for the An Líonra Sóisialta logo.  Nach deas é?

An Lïnra Sóisialta

Stay tuned for further credits.  This project is getting a lot of help, from a lot of people!

Over and Out! 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: gaeilge, irish, irishblogs, language, media, podcasting

One Comment on “Biting Off More Than I Can Chew”


  1. […] I can’t plead ignorance: I’ve been on the receiving end of a 56kbps download from a choked mailbox often enough in the past.  I do blame stress, and lack of sleep. […]


Leave a Reply

